Ad Code

The N1m 2019 AFIRE Linda Ikeji Prize for Literature Longlist Announced

The longlist for the African Indie Writers Review AFIRE 2019 Linda Ikeji Prize for Literature has been announced.

The premiere edition of the longlist for the now wildly popular prize for upcoming and emerging writers of African descent comprises 16 writers, carefully selected from over 150 submissions, a very high number, considering this is a new competition.

It is to be noted again that the AFIRE Linda Ikeji Prize is open to African writers of any nationality, writing in English from anywhere in the world, whether published or not.

The 2019 longlist of submitted work, in no ascending or descending order:

Oluwaseyi Adebola, A Cluster of Petals
Gideon Uzoma Umezurike, Victims of Duty
Edidiong Edet, A Dream in the Jungle
Pat Anetor, A Son For My Son
Vivian Ofre, These Little Things
Ayo Collins, Drumbeats of a Nigerian Student
Ayo Oyeku (Ayla Faircountry), Reeds on the Rivers
Adeola Adejokun, Unborn Children
Eleanya Ndukwe Jnr, Afrocentric Cinematic Creations and Analyses
10. Ojoi Igajah, Amokeye: The Dilemma of a Priest

11. Osarhieme Okungbowa, Angels Do Cry

12. I. C. Ukah, Dear Juju Witches

13. Itunu Ajao, Hubris

14. Peter O. Ibe, This Is How We Do It

15. Obinna Ochem, Living in the Ghetto

16. Evans Ufelli, A Gathering of the Tribes

The Editor of African Indie Writers Review, Odega Shawa, released the following statement:

‘The African Indie Writers Review has come to stay, both as an ejournal of new and emerging writers in Africa and from Africa and as a platform for transformation. This is AFIRE’s first offer to emerging writers from the motherland. The message is clear. Keep writing, no matter what. The challenges that face new and emerging writers are enormous, especially on the continent. But the fire must never die. This is also a special call to new and emerging female writers. Frankly, we did not hear too much from you. We hope to hear more from you in the future. We thank our benefactor, blogger and philanthropist, Linda Ikeji, for the support. She has promised more to this partnership with AFIRE. We cannot wait. As a writer herself she understands, more than anybody perhaps, what Africa needs for her pen never to go silent. We appreciate her vision to continue giving back, not just to her community, but to the whole continent.’

The Shortlist and Winner Announcements:

The shortlist of five books will be announced on the 10th of November 2019.

The winner will be announced on December 1 2019 in Lagos, Nigeria. There will be a media reception for the Winner Announcement.

The winner of the 2019 AFIRE Linda Ikeji Prize for Literature will take home the sum of N1,000,000 cash. The exposure value may not be so easily calculable, fulfilling the vision of AFIRE to empower and embolden new and emerging writers from Africa.

The panel of Judges to pick writers for the shortlist and the winner will be announced on October 10 2019.


Post a Comment


'; (function() { var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true; dsq.src = '//' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js'; (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq); })();