The Nigeria Union of Journalist (NUJ) Anambra chapter council on Thursday 17th January inaugurated new Exco that will pilot the affairs of the union for the next three year.

The inauguration which was held at the council secretariat in Awka the state capital had all the officers returned unopposed except for the office of the treasurer which was contested between comrade Beatrice Onuchukwu of the correspondence chapel and comrade Abuchi Onwumelu of the Fides chapel.

Comrade Onwumelu emerged victorious with 49 votes while Comrade Onuchukwu got 22 votes

The newly inaugurated officers are: Emma Ifesinachi, Chairman. Francis Ekpone, Vice Chairman. Emma Uduagha, General Secretary. Aloysius Ofordile, Assistant Secretary. Ogemdi Ozoemena, Financial Secretary. Abuchi Onwumelu, Treasurer and Okechukwu Onuegbu, Auditor.

Vice Chairman NUJ South East Comrade Petrus Obi inaugurating the seven man exco praised Anambra state council for a successful election and inauguration.

He urged union members of the council to be supportive and corporate with the new team while also calling on the Executive to not betray the trust and confidence imposed on them and not to allow their personal intrest over ride that of the union.

He concluded by encouraging aggrived members of the council not to adopt the habit of avading congresses. Insisting that the national leadership is not ready to compromise the constitution for what ever reason.

Emma Ifesinachi Chairman NUJ Anambra Council speaking on behalf of the exco pledged that by God's grace the tempo of good leadership will be sustained. He added by saying that the intergrity of the union will not be compromised emphasising on the elimination of quackery. He also assured members that the welfare of union members will be protected.

Okay Maduforo, Chairman credential committee for the Anambra NUJ election commended the members of his committee for their commitment in discharging their duties. He congratulated the new exco and other union members for the successful transition.

The exco took the oath of office which was administed by petrus Obi.